Mystery Solved

I got discouraged after making a couple loaves of bread only to have them fall when baking, so I stopped baking every day.  But then we decided to have a faux Thanksgiving dinner last week and I wanted to make the rolls from scratch.  I went with Parker House Rolls (they’re famous apparently).  And after watching a couple youtube videos about them, I decided to make Martha Stewart’s version.  I kneaded the dough for ten minutes, and my shoulders hurt!  But they turned out beautifully!  I was so happy with the outcome.  They tasted great too!  I forgot to take a picture of them though!  =(

After the success of the rolls I wanted to bake something else, so the next day I tried the King Arthur Classic Sandwich loaf.  I kneaded it for 8 minutes and it turned out perfect!  Liliana and I ate most of it that day, and Adam took the rest with him to school.

So I guess that’s the key…knead long enough to create enough structure in the gluten.  Anyway, my confidence in baking (all by hand) is increasing.  I’ll be sure to take pictures of my next baking adventure!

Leave a comment