Shin Splints

I have shin splints again and it is the worst. I can barely walk today. They’ve been coming on for a couple weeks now, and in hindsight-and for the future-I know what I need to do to try to prevent them in the first place. It was around this time last year that I dealt with the same thing. It took a couple months to admit to myself that I needed to take time off running. It’s just so hard to do that. But this time, I know, right this second, I need to stop running. My plan is the rest of this week and next week, no running. I have a half marathon at the end of July that I’d really like to do, so now is the time for me to rest. My goal for that half marathon is under 2 hours. I think it’s completely doable-but perhaps I’ll need to work a little harder since I’ll be resting for nearly 2 weeks. To be honest I wouldn’t be as concerned about my diagnosis of it weren’t for the race coming up. I’ve been researching the heck out of the topic, so I feel pretty confident in what I need to do. I’m just hoping my body cooperates. I ran 6.5 miles this morning including hill-repeats. It all felt okay…not perfect, but pretty good. And last Saturday I ran a glorious 11 miles. That felt super great. So I was a little bummed my shins hurts so bad.

Leave a comment